NMIN

Formation

Comité exécutif du NHN

Le comité exécutif du réseau du Personnel Hautement Qualifié (PHQ) du NMIN est composé du NMIN NHN et joue un rôle de premier plan dans la planification et la réalisation des programmes, activités et autres opportunités du NMIN NHN.

Le mandat du comité exécutif du NHN est d’améliorer les possibilités de recherche et de réseautage professionnel pour les stagiaires en Recherche du NMIN et les nouveaux professionnels en:

  • Favorisant les relations grâce à des communications régulières parmi et entre les stagiaires du NMIN et les nouveaux professionnels.
  • Facilitant l’échange d’informations professionnelles entre les stagiaires et les nouveaux professionnels et les autres participants au Réseau et les organisations partenaires.
  • Promouvant l’excellence dans la recherche et le développement des compétences professionnelles grâce à des événements de renforcement des capacités.

Le comité exécutif du NHN comprend jusqu’à 10 membres élus, plus un ancien président. Les membres sont nommés et élus par les membres du NHN.

Le président du NHN est observateur au conseil d’administration du NMIN. Le vice-président NHN est observateur au sein du comité de gestion de la recherche (CMR). Le comité exécutif du NHN se réunit quatre à cinq fois par an par téléconférence.

Membres du comité exécutif NHN 2020-2021

Membres du comité exécutif NHN 2020-2021

Ka-Yee Grace Choi

Présidente

Université de la Colombie-Britannique

Grace est une boursière postdoctorale supervisée par le chercheur du NMIN, le Dr Robert Hancock. Ses recherches se concentrent sur le développement de traitements alternatifs / adjuvants pour se protéger contre les organismes résistants aux antibiotiques.

Objectif de carrière : to become an expert in the field of immunology and microbiology, who can help advance our knowledge and to inspire next generation scientists.

Déclaration : NMIN provides a national platform that brings together experts among academic, industry and not-for-profit organizations across the nation, to provide great opportunities for networking, knowledge exchange and professional development. NMIN’s goal to advance research, innovation and provide training aligns with my career goals, which motivated me to serve on the Exec Committee.

Sams Sadat

Vice-président

Université de l’Alberta

Sams est un doctorant supervisé par le chercheur du NMIN, le Dr Afsaneh Lavasanifar. Ses intérêts de recherche incluent la pharmacie, l’administration de médicaments et la formulation de vaccins à l’aide de nanoparticules à base de biomatériaux.

Objectif de carrière : devenir un scientifique de formulation pionnier dans l’industrie de la recherche ou le domaine universitaire.

Déclaration : NMIN est une plate-forme unique, composée d’experts académiques et industriels de premier plan en nanomédecine de partout au Canada, ce qui m’a motivé à rejoindre l’équipe de direction. C’est en effet une excellente opportunité pour le renforcement des capacités, le réseautage, l’échange de connaissances et le développement des compétences professionnelles.

Morgan Alford

Directeur de la communication

Université de la Colombie-Britannique

Morgan est un doctorant supervisé par le chercheur du NMIN, le Dr Robert Hancock. Ses recherches se concentrent sur la compréhension de la pathogenèse bactérienne et le développement de nouvelles thérapies pour le traitement des infections dans le contexte des maladies respiratoires.

Objectif de carrière : poursuivre une carrière universitaire impliquant la recherche pratique et la communication scientifique.

Déclaration : Je suis très heureux de développer mes compétences en communication, ainsi qu’en relations internes et externes, grâce à ma participation au comité exécutif du NHN.

Quinn Matthews

Directeur des événements

Université de Toronto

Quinn est un candidat à la maîtrise supervisé par le chercheur du NMIN, le Dr Keith Pardee. Ses recherches actuelles se concentrent sur l’utilisation de nanoparticules lipidiques pour améliorer la thérapie cellulaire CAR T, une thérapie anticancéreuse récemment adoptée et extrêmement efficace.

Objectif de carrière : rester engagé dans un travail qui cherche des applications nouvelles et créatives de la nanomédecine.

Déclaration : J’ai rejoint le comité exécutif du NHN parce que je crois vraiment que tout le monde – du chercheur le plus estimé au stagiaire le plus apprenti – peut bénéficier de faire partie d’un réseau scientifique passionné, professionnel et solidaire.

Wesley Walker

Directeur régional – Ontario

Université de Toronto

Wesley est un candidat à la maîtrise supervisé par le chercheur du NMIN, le Dr Gang Zheng. Il s’intéresse principalement au développement de nouvelles formulations de photosensibilisateurs pour une utilisation en thérapie photodynamique, avec un accent secondaire sur le développement d’agents de contraste d’imagerie médicale. Il pense que l’intersection de ces domaines – les agents thermostatiques – peut conduire à des régimes de traitement personnalisés sous forme de dosimétrie spécifique au patient et de planification du traitement.

Objectif de carrière : traduire son expertise dans le développement d’agents thermostatiques vers un poste en R&D industrielle.

Déclaration : En faisant partie du comité exécutif, j’espère aider d’autres stagiaires à former un réseau de scientifiques dédiés à l’avancement du domaine de la nanomédecine.

Jennyfer Zapata-Farfan

Directrice régionale – Québec-Atlantique

Polytechnique Montréal

Jennyfer est candidate au doctorat à Polytechnique Montréal, où elle est supervisée par le chercheur du NMIN, le Dr Michel Meunier, et à l’Université nationale autonome du Mexique. Son expertise en recherche comprend l’instrumentation électronique, la biophotonique, l’optique et la nanoplasmonique appliquées à la thérapie génique oculaire.

Objectif de carrière : contribuer au développement d’instruments non invasifs de nanochirurgie oculaire pour traiter les maladies dégénératives de l’âge.

Déclaration : Je crois fermement que NMIN est la meilleure plate-forme pour les chercheurs impliqués dans la nanomédecine pour partager les besoins, les intérêts, les connaissances et les expériences. Je suis convaincu que faire partie du NHN est une occasion sans précédent de réseautage dans le milieu universitaire et l’industrie, ainsi que pour le développement personnel: avoir la chance de travailler avec des experts dans différents domaines qui contribuent de manière importante aux secteurs scientifique et des soins de santé au Canada.

Pour plus d’informations contacter Leah Graystone

leahgraystone@nanomedicines.ca

NMIN

training

NHN Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of NMIN’s Highly Qualified Personnel (HQP) Network (NHN) is comprised of NMIN HQP, and plays a leadership role in the planning and realization of NMIN’s HQP programs, activities and other opportunities.

The mandate of the NHN Executive Committee is to enhance research and professional networking opportunities for NMIN research trainees and new professionals by:

  • Fostering relationships through regular communications among and between NMIN trainees and new professionals.
  • Facilitating professional information exchange among trainees and new professionals and other Network participants and partner organizations.
  • Promoting excellence in research and professional skill development through capacity building events.

The NHN Executive Committee is comprised of up to 10 elected members, plus a past President. Members are nominated and elected by the NHN membership.

The NHN President is an observer on the NMIN Board of Directors. The NHN Vice-President is an observer on the Research Management Committee (RMC). The NHN Executive Committee meets four to five times per year by teleconference.

Members of the 2020-2021 NHN Executive Committee

2020-2021 NHN Executive Committee Members

Ka-Yee Grace Choi

Chair, President

University of British Columbia

Grace is a postdoctoral fellow supervised by NMIN researcher Dr. Robert Hancock. Her research focuses on the development of alternative/adjunctive treatments to protect against antibiotic resistant organisms.

Career aspiration: to become an expert in the field of immunology and microbiology, who can help advance our knowledge and to inspire next generation scientists.

Statement: NMIN provides a national platform that brings together experts among academic, industry and not-for-profit organizations across the nation, to provide great opportunities for networking, knowledge exchange and professional development. NMIN’s goal to advance research, innovation and provide training aligns with my career goals, which motivated me to serve on the Exec Committee.

Sams Sadat

Vice-President

University of Alberta

Sams is a PhD candidate supervised by NMIN researcher Dr. Afsaneh Lavasanifar. His research interests include pharmaceutics, drug delivery, and vaccine formulation using biomaterial-based nanoparticles.

Career aspiration: to become a pioneer formulation scientist in either research industry or academia.

Statement: NMIN is such a unique platform, consisting of top-notch academic and industry experts on nanomedicine from across Canada, which has motivated me to join the Executive team. It is indeed a great opportunity for capacity-building, networking, knowledge exchange, and professional skill development.

Morgan Alford

Communications Director

University of British Columbia

Morgan is a PhD candidate supervised by NMIN researcher Dr. Robert Hancock. Her research is focused on understanding bacterial pathogenesis and developing novel therapies for treatment of infections in the context of respiratory diseases.

Career aspiration: to pursue an academic career involving hands-on research and science communication.

Statement: I am very excited to develop my skills in communications, as well as internal and external relations, through participation on the NHN Executive Committee.

Quinn Matthews

Events Director

University of Toronto

Quinn is an MSc candidate supervised by NMIN researcher Dr. Keith Pardee. His current research focuses on using lipid nanoparticles to improve CAR T cell therapy, a recently adopted and extremely effective cancer therapy.

Career aspiration: to remain engaged in work that looks for new and creative applications of nanomedicine.

Statement: I joined the NHN executive committee because I truly believe that everyone—from the most esteemed researcher to the greenest trainee—can benefit from being a part of a passionate, professional, and supportive scientific network.

Wesley Walker

Regional Director – Ontario

University of Toronto

Wesley is an MSc candidate supervised by NMIN researcher Dr. Gang Zheng. He is primarily interested in the development of novel photosensitizer formulations for use in photodynamic therapy, with a secondary focus on developing medical imaging contrast agents. He believes that the intersection of these fields—theragnostic agents—may lead to personalized treatment regimes in the form of patient-specific dosimetry and treatment planning.

Career aspiration: to translate his expertise in the development of theragnostic agents towards a position in industrial R&D.

Statement: By serving on the Exec Committee, I hope to aid other trainees in forming a network of scientists dedicated to advancing the field of nanomedicine.

Jennyfer Zapata-Farfan

Regional Director – Quebec-Atlantic

Polytechnique Montréal

Jennyfer is a PhD candidate at Polytechnique Montreal, where she is supervised by NMIN researcher Dr. Michel Meunier, and at the National Autonomous University of Mexico. Her research expertise includes electronic instrumentation, biophotonics, optics, and nanoplasmonics applied in ocular gene therapy.

Career aspiration: to contribute to the development of non-invasive instruments for ocular nanosurgery to treat age-degenerative diseases.

Statement: I strongly believe that NMIN is the best platform for researchers involved in nanomedicine to share needs, interests, knowledge, and experiences. I am convinced that being part of the NHN is an unparalleled opportunity for networking in academia and industry, as well as for personal development: having the chance to work with experts in different areas that contribute importantly to the scientific and healthcare sectors in Canada.

For more information, contact Leah Graystone, HQP and Events Coordinator, at

leahgraystone@nanomedicines.ca